Go Back   Cosplay.com > Non-Cosplay Forums > Spam Board > Archive

View Poll Results: What is the number one reason you cosplay?
It's just fun! 34 47.89%
Creation of costumes is a great process. 15 21.13%
I like expressing myself as a cosplayer to those around me. 9 12.68%
I like hanging out with other cosplayers. 3 4.23%
Cosplay is unique and sets me apart from others. 4 5.63%
Cosplay keeps me from being bored. 6 8.45%
Voters: 71. You may not vote on this poll

Unread 11-14-2007, 08:40 PM   #1
ladylaurajones
Anthropologist

A Senior Thesis on Cosplay in Japan

Hi all!
My name is Jessie and I'm an anthropology student at Franklin Pierce University. Currently I am writing my senior thesis in anthropology on cosplay culture (mostly focusing on Japan, but I might expand this to include international results as well). Basically this means I am looking to give readers a nuanced understanding of what it means to be a cosplayer, why people cosplay, and how cosplaying is a response to society and culture.

If you are a cosplayer would you please answer the following questions for my senior thesis? Answers become totally anonymous in my paper. Your identity is not revealed in the paper as required by the American Anthropology Association code of Ethics (which I must comply with).

I am looking to get the best research I can, and since I could only interview cosplayers in Tokyo, Japan for a summer (in 2006), (and at a few anime cons around the US) I still need to get more about cosplay before I can really produce an excellent paper on it.
I have decided to expand my search to include cosplayers from around the world since it will be possible for me to narrow results later if I need to.

How old are you?
Are you male or female?
Are you attending school?
Do people at your school find you different because you cosplay?
Do you find cosplay is a good activity that allows you to escape the pressures of school/life?
Why do you cosplay?
What got you into cosplay?