Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Video Games

Unread 01-12-2008, 06:39 PM   #1
Faerie
Once Upon a Time...

Blackrose cosplay

my next cosplay is going to be blackrose from the .hack series. Most of her costume doesn't seem like it will be too big of a problem, but I've never done armor before. However, my brother did for his last costume, so I feel pretty confident. There's just a few parts that I'm not quite sure on, so I need some advise.

first, here's a picture of her:BlackRose

it's just the round parts at the elbows and the breast armor... how would I go about making that round? the technique I'm using is this one :armor tutorial

The more I think about it, the more impossible it seems to be to get craft foam to make such a round shape. can anyone offer me some advice please? =( thankyou very much
Faerie is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 01-12-2008, 06:45 PM   #2
Pretty Sammy
5th Squad Captain

Unfortunately, yes, it is impossible to achieve that shape with craft foam. It's physically impossible to make a round-ball shape (I know because I've tried! XD) Instead, what I would suggest is finding a round ball as a base (maybe a styrofoam ball) and, using something like paper-clay or another armor making material, coat it over the ball to make that shape. I'm afraid I'm no expert when it comes to armor, so this is the best advice I can give you.

Conventions for 2011:
Anime Los Angeles '11
Anime Conji 11'
Fanime '11
Kintoki-Con '11
AM2 '11
San Diego Comic-Con '11

Proud Half of "We're Not Twins Cosplay"

Pretty Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-12-2008, 06:59 PM   #3
Faerie
Once Upon a Time...