Go Back   Cosplay.com > Non-Cosplay Forums > Spam Board > Archive

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 02-18-2008, 07:15 PM   #1
lost_teflon
SHOXX is my VOGUE

Want to be a commissioner...any tips?

Hey everyone! I love to cosplay and have been sewing for many years, and have been thinking of making costumes and accessories to sell. I'm a student as of now, so time gets tight, but I've been thinking of selling for awhile now, and I feel the time is right for me ^_^

Just wondering if I could have some advice from commissioners/ buyers about what it takes to be a good commissioner; what kind of business end goes into it, etc. I just figure if I'm going to do this, I want to do it right.

So any advice relating to this is much appreciated. Like, what was it like starting out, what are the challenges, dos and don'ts? In the meantime, I'll search the forums. ^_^ Thank you.

Otakon 2011 Lineup
Jasmine You (Revenant Choir)- Friday and Saturday
Switzerland- Sunday

2011 shall be known as the year of epic j-rock cosplay!
Jasmine You~ Revenant Choir (DONE)
Hizaki~ Philia and Masquerade (Maybe....)
Reita~ Filth in the Beauty (if I have energy!)

Last edited by lost_teflon : 02-18-2008 at 07:25 PM.

Unread 02-18-2008, 07:42 PM   #2
ly*chee
ミア

As a person who buys costumes.
I'll suggest now, communication 8D;
Try not to be one of those commissioners who are nice and keep in touch up until the payment is given. ^_^; People would like to know where their money is going, and how their commissioned item(s) are coming along! After all most of us here work quite hard for our money =(
Makes paranoid people like me less worried if the person commissioning something for me updates me on what's going on ^^

And have some samples of your work obviously xD! That's all I really know >_>; since I don't sell things I just buy xD!
Unread 02-18-2008, 09:26 PM   #3
Ghost613
Your face is a Geostigma!