Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Makeup and Eye Contacts

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 02-19-2008, 12:17 PM   #1
Aera

Bald head, how to create from latex?

I thought about doing a cap as a base for a wig with a clearly visible hairline. The thing is, I have a tutorial in a book for doing it from this special plastic for bald heads. But these could only be used once and I would need to redo a new one every time I want to do that cosplay Plus that plastic is really expensive.

So I was thinking about doing a cap from latex, hoping that this is more durable. Does anyone have a tutorial for something like this? Or an idea how I could do a more durable cap? Or an idea of how I could hide my own hairline und the one of the wig? Maybe if I just did some pieces of latex and glued them to the wig... (but that is probably rather a question for the wig-forum)

I'm really at a loss here, since I'm only a beginner when it comes to cosplay, and this is going to be my 2nd cos D:

Ah one last question: could I work with latex on a styropor head?

So some help would really be appreciated ^-^
Aera is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 02-19-2008, 03:24 PM   #2
Phantomtango1
www.phantomonabudget.com

I really would not use latex or any rubber as a base for a wig. Latex, even of good quality and properly applied/removed will only be good for a certain period of time. I don't think it's a solution at all.

I crossplay The Phantom of the Opera and ran into the same problem you did - I needed a wig that had a natural hairline (and would cover my own). It had to be extremely slicked back, and thus the hairline was extremely important. I constructed a full lace wig on my own. Here is a link to my thread in the Wig Forum complete with photos and other information:
The Making of a Fully Ventilated Wig