Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Cosplay Tutorials

Unread 06-24-2008, 06:23 PM   #1
Hiryuu
Go BIG or go home!

Tutorial: Detangling

So I've seen this posted many a time, and I think it's about time I help you guys out a bit. I've been working with wigs for only two years, but I've finally made a method for detangling the worst of mess, and even a 50 inch wig can be detangled in under two hours (usually takes about one hour). This is simple, and makes sure that your wigs can last more than just one con. I will say the products I used, and provide other suggestions that I have had the same results with.

MaTeRiAlS! (and where to find them)
Suave Detangling Spray: CVS, Walmart, Walgreens, RiteAid
Detangling Combs: CVS, Walmart, Walgreens, RiteAid, Sally's
Wig form: Sally's
Sewing Pins: Any fabric store

Pay attention to the position of these combs as I will refer to them as combs 1, 2, 3, and 4 respectively.

So your wig is a trash heap. You bounced around at the con, you ran with a yaoi train, you glomped someone. It happens. But now you gotta fix it.
First, take the wig and pin it to the wig form. If you haven't done this before, put the wig on the wig form as you would your own head. Take the sewing needles and pin straight through a weft into the foam wig form. You will want to use 5 pins. One pin on the forehead, one on either side of the head (more so near the top), one on top of the head, and one in the back of the head. This will make the wig secure. If you tug on the wig and it falls off, re-pin.