Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Anime/Manga > Fullmetal Alchemist

Unread 02-09-2009, 11:27 AM   #1
alliebeth
Show me your teeth.

FMA Lust help

So I'm thinking about tackling "Lust" from Full Metal Alchemist for my first cosplay from scratch. I'm having trouble deciding on a fabric though. In some screens, it appears to have a shiny-ness/reflectiveness/satin finish to it, and in others it seems to be a cotton/dull fabric. I've seen it done both ways...What do you think would be the best (and relatively cheap, please) fabric for me to choose? I am a novice, and it will be a combination of machine and handstitching, so a fabric that is easy to sew wouldn't be a bad thing.

Also, any ideas for those claws of hers? I will probably make them shorter than usual, just so I can be comfortable.

Here's a reference of her:
http://www.testriffic.com/resultfiles/21593lust.jpg
alliebeth is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 02-09-2009, 12:30 PM   #2
Kenmichi
Death by photograph.

From what I'd expect Lust to be like, I think a dress with a shine to it would be ideal. Her character in the manga and anime is very feminine, after all her name is Lust. She's seductive, and full breasted with long flowing hair. A shiny form fitting dress perfectly compliments her traits and personality.

For her claws, there might be someone else who made them and posted a how-to, if not I know there are cosplay.com members who have made her claws and you can always try asking them. My recommendation would be to use craft foam, or possibly plasticard (styrene sheets). Both are easy to work with, inexpensive, they're thin (light), and come in sheets long enough to reach the length you're looking for.
Unread 02-09-2009, 03:25 PM   #3
alliebeth
Show me your teeth.