Go Back   Cosplay.com > US Convention Forums > New York Anime Festival

Unread 06-29-2009, 04:50 PM   #1
einlee

NYAF Hotel Help and What to Expect.

Okay, I'm really new to conventions and the New York Anime Festival is going to be my first one ever! I've heard from a lot of people what events are common for a convention, and what people generally do while they're there. But I would like you guys to tell me what I can expect to see and do at NYAF. Personal experiences, observations, and so on are welcome

Also, I'm wondering if you guys know which hotels close to the convention center are the best. We don't want to stay at a Four Seasons, but not a hostel or motel either. I don't enjoy waking up to cockroaches on the bathroom floor. -.-U I nice hotel that won't break the bank is kinda what we're going for.

Unread 06-29-2009, 05:27 PM   #2
wisecraxx
Tania C.

Well I haven't really checked out the hotels and their locations since NYAF is a home convention but I'll be sure to do that when I can. x3;
But yes, NYAF has grown much bigger than about two-three years ago.
I can't really tell you about the experience you may have in general since it always depends on the person and who they go with, what they do, etc. The obvious factor (like any other con) is that you have more fun in cosplay; well, in my opinion anyway.
Like in all cons, there are those people to avoid but there are also many photographers going around taking pictures.
The dealer's room can get pretty crowded and THAT is the place where most con-goers not in cosplay snap shots of you. So be prepared for that and as I've learned, try not to have your con badge around your neck when a picture is going to be taken of you. XD;

I personally have had a wonderful time for the two years that I've gone; it is generally well-organized and a place where other conventions are held as well (like New York Comic Con).