Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Video Games > Metal Gear

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 07-18-2009, 12:29 PM   #1
redchainsawz
enjoy the silent

Raiden MGS4 Mask Tutorial

I'm looking for several things in this post, and I hope I can clearly state these things as I go along, though since I'm relatively new with props, I'll probably sound like a confused idiot.

First of all I'm obviously trying my hand at making Raiden's mask from MGS4
http://ps3media.ign.com/ps3/image/ar...20416_640w.jpg

Now here's the fun part, besides a chainsaw I made awhile ago out of cardboard and other random crap, I've never made a prop before. And I know most of you are going to spout out that the mask is too complicated for a beginner, bla bla bla, but I don't mind. I have 4 months till the con and I'm ecstatic to learn how to do all this. I'm also a perfectionist by nature, and I have alot of spare cash for just this occasion.

The first thing I'm looking for is a tutorial on HOW to make props in general out of things like moldings, foam, plastic, etc. that way I can familiarize myself with what/how I will make the mask. I'd like several tutorials if any of you have some.

Second, I'd like to know what exactly I should use to make the mask, and what kind of paint I should use as well, and the fake bottom jaw is also an issue I'm not sure how to resolve if anyone has a tutorial on how to do that as well. I'm putting my ALL into this mask and I will have a professionally done mask by November, that's how motivated I am.

Any help would be VERY VERY VERY appreciated, Thanks again.

EDIT:
If anyone can translate, here's a blog with exactly how to make this mask
http://blog.livedoor.jp/jiro_428/

~ red

Last edited by redchainsawz : 07-22-2009 at 02:46 AM.
redchainsawz is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 07-18-2009, 07:14 PM   #2
kanancom