Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Chat > Cosplay Newbies

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 09-16-2009, 03:21 AM   #1
Kayu-sama

Sewing w/o patterns or making your own patterns

I'm a total newb at sewing.....I can operate a sewing machine, but I'm an idiot at tailoring. I can't cut pieces of fabric and get them to fit right once sewn together. I have a few costumes I'll be making soon and I could use some advice on how to make them without a pattern, and have them actually fit the people they're made for. They're really simple for anyone that knows what they're doing, but not for me!

http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p...oy12/malon.jpg
http://www.kasuto.net/image/officialart/majora_anju.jpg

Please and thank you! =3

Unread 09-16-2009, 10:32 AM   #2
Kelley
Devil of Details

Well... buy a pre-made pattern. I'm sure you could find ones that would help with those costumes since they are relatively simple shapes.

Or take a pattern-drafting class at a community college.

Or buy or rent a book on the subject.

Otherwise - and even with that, learning is a process of trial and error. My experienced sewing teacher had me make a mock-up of a jacket since she didn't know what alterations it would need just by looking at the pattern and looking at me - I would say this is fairly common. Even professionally tailored garments are at least "fit".
Unread 09-16-2009, 12:34 PM   #3
Etrina
Banshee Queen

Your best bet - for either of those two - is going to be buy (a) pre-made pattern(s).

For the first one - find a pattern for a longish skirt and use that - or your other option (and this is going off MY body measurements 27" waist 32" hips)
get approx. 3 yards of fabric, cut down the fold, sew both sides together, baste the "waist" and gather, sew on a waistband (or sew in elastic), hem....

this gives you a fairly full skirt that is pretty long - you can obviously hem it up more if you want it to be shorter.