Go Back   Cosplay.com > Member Forums Entrance > Virginia Cosplay Society

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 10-09-2009, 11:29 AM   #1
Quis1000

Authentic Taijutsu Training In Richmond!

If you are reading this thread, then yes, there is authentic taijutsu training available in Richmond. I am a student at the Richmond Tactical - Bugei of Richmond, VA, where I have been training with Sensei for several years now. For any of you interested, feel free to PM me with any questions or go to the schools website http://www.richmondtactical.com/. Below is a synopsis of the training and of Sensei. Please enjoy and I hope to hear from you soon.

-Bugei of Richmond, VA is a training group dedicated to preserving the techniques of kobudo arts as they were traditionally taught in ancient Japan. With a focus on today's threats in everyday life that may attack us mentally, physically, or spiritually. Our group as a whole focuses on training hard to become not only better martial artist, but better individuals in our everyday life.

The school curriculum is based on Taijutsu (Natural Body movement). We do not focus on just one set of specialized skills, but rather yet focus on a wide variety of skills to defend ourselves in a multitude of situations. Some areas of focus include body movement skills/evasion, break falls, striking, vital points, grappling, locks, throws, escapes, and strategy to name a few. Along with kobudo weapons such as kenjutsu (sword) and sojutsu (pole arms). Of course never forgetting some of the most important aspects such as reiho (etiquette/manners), history, culture and philosophy.

Some of the koryu (classical schools) the training is derived from are:

-Gyokko Ryu
-Koto Ryu
-Kukishin Ryu
-Takagi Yoshin Ryu
-Shinden Fudo Ryu
-Togakure Ryu