Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Photography > Photo Critique

Unread 03-22-2010, 12:50 AM   #1
MDA
Destiny Productions

Critique of a Photo Set [Fight]

Hello, I'm new to this, and somewhat new to cosplay photography. But nothing like practice and finding out how to improve.

So, I was wondering if I could get a critique on this set of photos of two of my friends in a fighting sort of scene. It was at an arranged cosplay day/photoshoot where we live, which doesn't happen often as it's a small town. But I'd love to get a critique to know how to improve.

Shot 1: http://www.cosplay.com/photo/2364634/
Shot 2: http://www.cosplay.com/photo/2364649/
Shot 3: http://www.cosplay.com/photo/2441368/

2014 Cons/Events:
Too many events for 2013, to see the full list please visit here: MDA's Schedule

Facebook | deviantART
MDA is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 03-22-2010, 02:10 AM   #2
Jim3535

The most obvious thing I would recommend is finding a better background. The road and cars are somewhat distracting. I'm not sure what was on the other sides of the filed, but you might have had a better angle (or possibly not).
Unread 03-22-2010, 04:29 AM   #3
brucer007
Bruce Heinsius

Fight photography

I agree with Jim. The backgrounds are distracting. This can be avoided by being selective about your angles. You can get rid of some distant scenery by trying high angles, making the grass become the only background. Extreme low angles might also help you too. Try backing up and zooming in. This will really give you control of what will be in your background. It might also give you an opportunity to make things in the distance, out of focus. This can be a nice effect.

Try doing profile shots when photographing two fighters. You will get more faces.

Timing is also important. Consider what action will be the most exciting moment to capture. Will it be a sword being swung, and dodged, or maybe blocked?