Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Photography > Photo Critique

Unread 05-29-2010, 06:57 PM   #1
Celia Rose
wanna-be abs of steel

New to Photography - Assort. Cosplay photos

I'm fairly new to photography with a D-SLR. I've picked up on photography tips through two years of journalism class, but I know there are ways I can improve.

The following photos were taken December 29, 2009 with a Canon EOS Rebel XSi. Editing done in ArcSoft PhotoStudio 5.0.2
deviantART album: http://zetsui101.deviantart.com/gallery/#Cosplay

Hetalia: Axis Powers
cosplayers: Atakiri & Ashley

Katekyo Hitman Reborn!
cosplayers: Atakiri, Ashley, & SDF

C&C, please! I'm always looking to improve. C:
Celia Rose is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 06-21-2010, 03:34 AM   #2
ArkhamQueen

Hey! There's alot of good going on in these shots! For real! I'll go photo by photo on my $0.02.

First photo, with photos like that you really have ot be careful with depth of field. If you focus on one thing (person being the subject), you loose the background object (flag). You almost completely miss the flag and are left wonder... "why are they doing that hand thing? Some Naruto thing?"

For the second. CUTE idea! Only thing would be depth of field again. Either totally have the hand out of focus or the people. Also, if they are kissing or talking or whatever, you can't tell. Body language does't show what they are doing behind that hand.

The third shot is so nice! I really like it. I would not crop so much of the shears out of the photo. Also maybe angle them more inwards? Even do more of a shot closer to the ground to get the feeling of being alone. Nice shot though!

Forth shot... the ladder is distracting. Seems your main character is on a slight angle, rather than a nice more direct angle. You know? Like he was about to turn to go more into an angle. Your subject on the right seems to be looking at the camera almost. That's distracting.