Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Chat > Introductions

Unread 07-11-2010, 02:43 PM   #1
kiyohtan
COS★SUKI

[Wanted] Online Cosplay "Tutor"?

Hello! I'm new to Cosplay.com, but I hope I can make some really nice friends here and get the help I need to become a better cosplayer~ :3

If I posted this thread in the wrong section, I'm really sorry! DX Please move it to the correct area if that is the case. Anyway, I'm looking for someone who might be willing to be a sort of "Cosplay Tutor"?

A little bit about me, I've been cosplaying casually for about a year, but I've only bought pre-styled wigs, costumes, etc. I'm really interested in learning how to do things myself now, but neither of my parents know much about sewing and I don't have any cosplay friends in the area >3< I can't attend any of the basic sewing classes at my nearby community colleges due to my work schedule and I'm really shy in person, so I'm trying to avoid drop-in sewing centers for lessons, etc.

I'm looking for someone who:
- Currently makes their own costumes or has a lot of sewing experience
- Can walk me through specifically where to alter patterns, which pieces should be sewn first, etc.
- Has a good amount of free time and can communicate often by email

It's almost like one of those "Master and Student" thingies that some MMO's have lol, where a high-level player kind of "adopts" a newbie and teaches them the ropes? xD I know this is a lot to ask, and it's kind of a strange proposition, but I think I'd be able to learn easily this way; being able to get specific help and ask specific questions - might as well try asking once! xD;;

Anyway, for anyone who's interested or have any questions, please PM me or post in this thread and I'll get back to you ASAP :3 (And sorry for the long post, I hope I didn't ramble DX) Hoping I can find someone who would be willing to help in their spare time for free, but I'm also considering monetary payment depending on my situation xD;;

Thanks~