Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Sewing/Fabric Craft

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 07-17-2010, 12:51 PM   #1
kiyohtan
COS★SUKI

Should I Wash My Fabric Before Cutting?

Hello! I'm new to cosplaying, so I'm sorry if this question sounds dumb, but normally, are you supposed to wash and dry fabric at least once before cutting out the pattern pieces? ^^;;

I'm working on my first cosplay and I just bought some white cotton twill. I heard it's a popular fabric to use and easy for beginners, but it feels kind of thick/rough? I'm not sure if it's supposed to be like that or...? xD;;

Thanks, any help would be great~
kiyohtan is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 07-17-2010, 03:53 PM   #2
Altrus
I love dogs!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiyohtan View Post
Hello! I'm new to cosplaying, so I'm sorry if this question sounds dumb, but normally, are you supposed to wash and dry fabric at least once before cutting out the pattern pieces? ^^;;

I'm working on my first cosplay and I just bought some white cotton twill. I heard it's a popular fabric to use and easy for beginners, but it feels kind of thick/rough? I'm not sure if it's supposed to be like that or...? xD;;

Thanks, any help would be great~
It depends on the fabric, but washing and drying before cutting it is generally a good idea. Fabric can shrink and change texture (some cotton I used was so stiff that it literally had to be beaten into submission), and the last thing you want to find out is that all of a sudden your costume is now a different size or distorted in form.
Unread 07-17-2010, 08:06 PM   #3
ThakYuki
Kittysaurus Rex!

If you plan on wearing this costume time after time and washing between wears, then yes, prewash the fabric before cutting and sewing so that it shrinks before you sew it all together, and not after (then you have a costume that doesn't fit).

Thank you for completely removing my signature without emailing me that it was too long.