Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Comics/Cartoons > DC Universe

Unread 07-18-2010, 07:18 PM   #1
Batgirl_Cain
Batgirl

Batgirl/Cass Cain help and/or opinions?

So I'm all set to go to NY Comic Con in October, and much to the delight of my fellow comicbookers who have been nagging me, I'm going as Cassandra Cain!Batgirl. [My name's Cassandra, I'm half oriental on my mom's side, caucasian on my dad's, and my best friend is a silly, rambunctious blonde named Steph. 'nuff said.]

Okay, so since I'm kind of a noob at this full-costume making thing (I'm used to ordering parts and maybe making small things like vests), I'm going to need everybody's help! First of all, let me get you guys a reference picture or two:
Full body, kind of small, but decent
Nice cowl shot

I'm willing to spend quite a bit of money on this, but as I'm a poor college student, it won't be a huge budget. Handmaking a lot of this stuff should bring the cost down, yeah? But before I can do anything we have a few forks in the road.

FORK 1:What kind of material?
She's always referenced as wearing leather. A lot of costumes I've been have used the shiny, raincoaty PVC-looking leather stuff. I was considering a textured pleather, so it looks more like real leather. I was also thinking about using the shiny pleather, and using the textured for stuff like the boots, and the gauntlets.

FORK 2: Bodysuit vs 2-pieces
Two pieces would indefinitely make it easier to go to the bathroom, but a one piece might look better. I'm afraid of people seeing that it's two pieces, even if I do have a strategically placed utility belt. I kind of answered this for myself, but I just want a second opinion.

FORK 3: The cowl