Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Video Games > Persona

Unread 07-21-2010, 04:42 AM   #1
slimyfrogz
[Insert Tentacle Here]

Question Androids from Persona 3

Hello!!

I'm still new to the whole prop making thing, but my friend and I want to cosplay as Metis and Aegis from Persona 3. I'm a little concerned with what materials would work best for our props.

Mostly -- Metis' helmet & hip armor (including the clear red parts), and Aegis' gold on her thighs.

Any suggestions? I was looking into wonderflex and styrene, but not sure how well those would work to get the desired effect.

Metis >> http://www.ncsx.com/2009/011909/persona_3_fes_metis.htm

Aegis >> http://www.nekomagic.com/?p=12361

Thanks for looking! Any advice is appreciated! C=

Come see me @ Artist Alley!! "Fantastically Filler, Frogfais, and Sezaku!"
slimyfrogz is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 10-14-2010, 10:34 PM   #2
GORGEOUScissors
MEKIseki

Hi!
Metis was my first cosplay and I am currently in the process of remaking it!
I used styrene plastic to cut the shapes for the armour and spraypainted them gold. They looked great, however, cutting the shapes were a little troublesome so I am remaking them with craftfoam (which will be gessoed and painted) this time around. Also, I think I might put some wire in between the pieces of foam so that I get a little more shape and structure.
I'm pretty sure that you could use the same materials for aegis's leg armour.

For the red parts, I suggest using red cellophane or transparent red vinyl, though the latter is a bit expensive. I sandwiched the red cellophane in between two gold pieces for each piece of hip armour (there are two). I ultimately connected the armour to my suit using safety pins.

btw, this flickr gallery has some great pictures of existing cosplay that you could possibly reference: http://www.flickr.com/photos/4301609...th/3964108326/