Go Back   Cosplay.com > Fashion > Steampunk

Unread 08-01-2010, 07:09 PM   #1
Ronin-47

Steampunk soldier

Hello

I've been trying to put together a steampunk soldier costume, and have been having a bit of trouble figuring out where to start. Any feedback on where to look or advice on putting it together is much appreciated.

Ronin-47

"the thing is to find a truth that is true for me, to find an idea for which I can live and die" -Søren Kierkegaard
Ronin-47 is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 08-01-2010, 09:06 PM   #2
FeyMeggan

Well, and I'm by no means an expert, first off a soldier from where? Start with a military uniform of the country you want to be a soldier from and start steamin' it up. And then what type of soldier are you? Infantry, sniper, medic, army, air, navy, submarine; what is your job as a soldier? Then, what rank are you? Cause lets face it you could really add anything you wanted if you're a general, but a basic grunt? Gonna be sorta sparse. All of that will also decide what sort of accessories and weapons you have.

Not sure if that helped, but that's all that first sprang into my mind when approaching that basic idea.

Sanity Check
Costume list 2009: Finished 17 initially planned :: 15 completed :: 6 moved to next year
Costume list 2010: Started 6 from '09 :: 9 initially planned, now up to 22 total
FeyMeggan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-01-2010, 09:15 PM   #3
Ronin-47

american, army, medic, and sgt. And thanks much, any advice is helpful. Any sites you recommend?
Unread 08-01-2010, 10:57 PM   #4
Kaoshima
Legendary Prosecutor

I'd recommend starting off with a civil-war era uniform and going from there.
Kaoshima is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-02-2010, 12:22 AM   #5
Archangelz
Accio burrito!

Sticking with the civil war idea that Kaoshima threw out, here's a cool site where you can get those outfits:

http://www.ushist.com/american_civil...iforms_f.shtml