Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Photography > Photo Critique

Unread 09-01-2010, 12:31 PM   #1
Fleamo
CONVOKE

First on location shoot...

So, I'm pretty new to photography as a whole, but last weekend I had the chance to do my first shoot at an actual convention. It was a little bit hectic, which made me reush a bit more than I'd normally like to, and I was pretty worn out by the end of the day.

That said, I captured a lot of images, some of which I feel are pretty decent. Looking at each of these, I can already see things I'd change given the chance to do it again, mostly sloppy composition or lighting stuff.

Anyways. I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on the few photos I've had a chance to process, edit, and upload so far. Here they are, in no particular order:

I liked the light in this shot the best, but Ghost's rifle was clipped in the original comp. I copied the full barrel/silencer from another shot and extended the canvas to accommodate it. Which would explain the specular highlights and slightly skewed perspective.

It also kind of threw off the rest of the photo, because I had to increase the height to compensate for the added width. Still, I think it's a lot better than the original.

Not a huge fan of the cosplayer's expression in this one, but the others weren't much better. He's a bit too dreamy looking, like he's just realized his purpose in life. The tricky thing with Ghostbusters is that all the detail is in the backpack, and that doesn't really show here.

Still, this is one of the shots that I've processed the least. Just a bit of levels/saturation.