Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Comics/Cartoons > DC Universe

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 12-01-2010, 12:52 AM   #1
Ninja_Autobot

Cosplay Advice: Blue Beetle III (Jaime Reyes)

So, I've recently started watching "Batman: Brave and the Bold," and I've really come to like the character of the Blue Beetle. Naturally, I want to do a cosplay of him XP (Plus, it seems to be one that hasn't really been done yet, so I get to feel original, too XD)

I'm not exactly a n00b to cosplay--I've been doing it since 2007. But I've never really done something on this scale, so any advice on how on some parts of the costume would be much appreciated.

This is the cartoon version of the Beetle, next to the comic book version. I'm going more towards the cartoon version, since it looks way more simple.

Here's part of my action plan: I'm planning on getting a full-body black zentai suit, including the headpiece, and painting the shoulders and chest pattern using something like Dye-Na-Flow or Jacqaurd's paint.

I'm debating on whether or not to make the two markings on the forearms and thighs out of thin spray-painted craft foam to give them a slight raised feel, or to simply paint them on. Any suggestions?

I also would like advice on the Scarab "backpack." was thinking about getting an actual backpack, then making a shell around it out of something like cardboard. Here's a look at the Scarab itself:

I'm also trying to figure out the best way to make the pincers/prongs. Crayola Model magic might work, but that could break easily.

Any suggestions for any of these things would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!!
Ninja_Autobot is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 12-09-2010, 12:55 AM   #2
Captain Gundam