Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Sewing/Fabric Craft

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 12-08-2010, 07:52 PM   #1
KittyAngel
cute little kitty >^.^<

Wink Fabric Dyeing Thread

Since there is a lot of questions that some of us have about fabric dyeing and instead of asking one indivdual thread about that subject, put all of your fabric dyeing questions and answers, how tos, and other things about fabric dyeing here Is this a good idea for everyone or is it lame? (If this thread has been done already, then please say so.)

Speaking of which, I'll be doing ALL of Yuna's from FFX-2 dresspheres in the near future and I'm a total newbie in fabric dyeing. I'll be doing some tests of course, but I have some fabric dyeing questions regardless.

1. I've searched on the internet and found ways that are similar for mixing fabric dye, just with different materials, are there any more ways, or do I just follow the instructions on the fabric dye box?

2. Are there better fabric dyes than others? If so, which is best and why?
3. I'm very scared of the fabric dye because I'm afraid that it may stain the kitchen counter and/or floor. If I do it in the kitchen, does the fabric dye stain floors and counters?

4. Does fabric dyes give you the color that you want whether it's white or not? For example, if I wanted a fuisha colored shirt and it's a baby yellow fleece fabric, will the fuisha color replace the baby yellow color?

5. Does fabric dye work on all type of fabrics regardless of what name brand or does the specific name brand dye do only particualr fabrics?

Okay, again, like I said, I'm not doing this at the moment, but when it's time to do one of her dresspheres that requires it, that's when I'll come here for the help. If not anything, this will be little tib bit information for me regardless Anyway, thanks.

DeviantArt.com
JapaneseBlossomKitty
KittyAngel is online now   Reply With Quote

Unread 12-08-2010, 09:44 PM   #2