Go Back   Cosplay.com > Off-Topic Chat > General Off-Topic Forum

Unread 12-25-2010, 12:19 PM   #1
Rainbowgasm
fruity goodness!

Horse Owners/Riders?

How many of you here own or ride horses?

I have been riding for about 11 years... I have done mostly hunters, but I am really getting into dressage and I have also done and want to do more western in the future...
I DO have my own horse, she is a 14.3hh, 4 year old (May 2006), sorrel, registered Quarter Horse mare with a blaze and a hind sock on one and a hind stocking on the other (picture of her on her 3rd birthday), I call her Angel, and I have owned her since she was 5 months old, so this is our 5th winter together.
Angel went through a few issues with training (she's a bucker) and I was not confident enough to break her of it, so I had my trainer take her on for a while and now she is actually very easy to ride as long as I ride 2-3 times or more a week... she is still stubborn, but so am I so sometimes we clash, but most of the time it works out in the end.
I ride her hunter right now, though we are teaching her the basics of dressage as we believe its a good foundation for ANY riding style... She does not jump yet, and at the moment I don't plan to teach her myself because I am a rather timid rider and jumping is my one fault (that is a taught part- bucking is my other one, which is why I couldn't handle it when Angel was letting out big bucks in the early days, I can handle the odd small one she gives now)... but I may get the trainer to teach her so maybe one day I could have a part-boarder who could jump her, because I know from free jumping, she loves it and has AMAZING form.