Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Anime/Manga > Code Geass

Unread 01-02-2011, 02:56 PM   #1
Zetsubun

Question Lelouch's Mask - What to use?

Hi all! I'm planning on making Zero's mask from Code Geass and I need some advice on what material to use to make it. I'm a professional graphic artist so I've worked with my fair share of 3D medium in my time, but I've never worked with anything like this. I want the final product to be pretty durable and not look like it was made from paper mache/ cardboard/ duct tape. I want it to look clean and...well, true to canon.

Cardboard = no.
Paper Mache = no.

(^My favorite example of a handmade Zero mask.)

Ideally I'd use fiberglass, but it's such a complex medium I don't think that would be an option for me. I've been suggested Craft Foam layered with hot glue etc and covered with black stretch vinyl, but I've heard that Craft Foam is hella hard to shape and I'm wondering whether or not it would be feasible for Zero's mask.

I've also been suggested Wonder Flex but I wonder about the integrity of the material. It's also a good deal more expensive than Craft Foam so I'd want to be absolutely sure about it before I invest in something pricey like that.

I know there are other materials too but I don't know where to begin.

Any and all input is greatly appreciated!

Last edited by Zetsubun : 01-02-2011 at 02:59 PM.
Zetsubun is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 01-05-2011, 07:17 PM   #2
Zetsubun

Bump.
Zetsubun is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2011, 10:35 PM   #3
Idle_Time