Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > General Construction Help

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 03-03-2011, 09:05 AM   #1
Shuko

Mascot Costume Ventilation?

Hey all. I have no experience in making mascot costumes (or as some might interpret them, fursuits), but I'm interested in making a costume that's going to be large, very round, and probably lined with thick foam to conceal the frame. It'll go from my head all the way to my feet, so I'm definitely going to have problems with heat and ventilation if I don't build some sort of ventilation system into the costume.

Without having to tell you which character I want to make (Naisho deshou! - It's a secret! ^o^), can I get some advice on some of the ways that people get air to circulate inside large, spacious mascot suits? I was thinking that perhaps I could incorporate some sort of battery operated fan, but that would only work if it can access the outside air, so I'm limited in where I can put it. Is there something else I could consider?
Shuko is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 03-03-2011, 10:54 AM   #2
Orannis

While fans would be ideal, another alternative would be to have a water-cooling system. Essentially it's a series of tubes that get strapped around your body/limbs and the water gets pumped through a cooling unit. It'll run you at least a few hundred though, probably more.
Unread 03-03-2011, 01:09 PM   #3
Mangochutney
saucy condiment

You'll need to add at least one stretch mesh panel somewhere--a battery-powered computer fan goes just underneath the thin, porous fabric to pull cool air in. I wish you were able to give us a clearer idea of your design, because even in a round costume there's got to be a place to put it inconspicuously.