Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Chat > General Cosplay Chat

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 03-06-2011, 12:07 AM   #1
BraveKnight

Hall Contests...

So I know I'm just a beginner when it comes to Cosplay (and does anyone else get annoyed that when we are on a site called Cosplay.com that the word cosplay shows up as incorrect in spellcheck... sorry moving on) BUT I took my Snow costume to get judged and like most people who work really hard on their costume it's hard to deal with the idea of being judged but I got to ask:

HOW DO YOU KEEP COMPOSED!

I've done public speaking and all that jazz but my turn came up to get judged and when I showed up I croaked. It was just silly. That and when the judges are in costume and their outfits look pretty effin sweet you just kind of... FEEL like you need to clam up.

I love being in my Snow costume and enjoyed working on it. Sorry I tend to ramble when its just me talking about my feelings =P

To those who are just looking to by pass the rambling... I'm looking for help on how to prepare yourself for being judged. I had photos... like quite a few of them. But when it came to time to show them I just couldn't wait to get out of that room rofl.
BraveKnight is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 03-06-2011, 12:36 AM   #2
Yui
morally ambiguous
All-Seeing Eye

That's one of the reasons that I don't really like cosplaying when I'm judging a contest - I feel that it is distracting to those being interviewed. ^_^; (And I know other judges feel differently about that, and prefer not to work in normal clothes, since I can totally understand that wearing your own costume is an instant credential - just as judges in costume may intimidate some contestants, other contestants sometimes are confused by judges who aren't.)