Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Chat > General Cosplay Chat

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 03-21-2011, 09:06 AM   #1
ZombehPanda
Lil Disturbing / Lil Cute

Buying vs. Making?

Is it looked down upon in the cosplay community to buy your cosplay instead of making it yourself? I mean, I know creators out there who sell would say no but I'm certain there has to be some ratio that makes their own and looks down on people who buy.

I have no sewing experience. When I did try when I was younger I sucked at it horribly. I loveeeeee designing clothes on paper but have never learned how to take that creativity to the real world. Will I still be acceptable to the cosplay community if I wear bought cosplays for at least the first year I try out cosplaying?

Future Cosplay~
-Amu- Shugo Chara (0%)
-Chi- Chobits (0%)
-Selphie- FinalFantasy VIII (0%)
-Jill Valentine- Resident Evil (0%)

Current Cosplay~
-Misa Amane- Death Note
ZombehPanda is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 03-21-2011, 09:48 AM   #2
Pocketfightr
Merc who grants wishes

This topic seems to come up every other week. If you can't make, it's perfectly acceptable to buy as long as you don't enter a competition and claim you made it.
Nene (Bubblegum Crisis) -eventually?

2014 Cons:
Detour
Acen
Dragon*Con
Nebraskon
Pocketfightr is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2011, 09:48 AM   #3
jalynissuper!

well.... I personally think it'd be ok. for a first or even a second cosplay. As most cosplayers need to start somewhere. But my suggestion to you, would be to make a few of the smaller things yourself. Like if you were to get a Miku Hatsune outfit online add more details yourself as most online sellers make a very basic cosplay.