Go Back   Cosplay.com > Fashion > Steampunk

Unread 03-28-2011, 01:17 PM   #1
Smurfasaur
ebay addict

steampunk fabrick help

hello there!

I'm making a steampunk costume for a con coming up and I am totally new to steampunk, the fabrics included. I need to make a underbust type thing, and it looks like it should be leather. BUT leather is 1 expensive, 2 I have never worked with it. My question is, is there any other fabric that would be acceptable for this? That would look right? I really havent seen to many steampunk cosplays up close enough to see what other people were using so I need your guys help! pretty pweese
Smurfasaur is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 03-28-2011, 02:04 PM   #2
Clem O'Grady
I ain't yer darlin'

Take a look at microsuede or microfiber. It has the look of suede but is made out of synthetic fibers instead. You can get it in any color you'd care to, pretty much, and it sews up nicely.
Clem O'Grady is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 02:08 PM   #3
Smurfasaur
ebay addict

awesome! thank you so much. is it stiff or would i need some kind of thick interfacing? because i also have to be able to attach brass findings to it.
Unread 03-28-2011, 07:22 PM   #4
Clem O'Grady
I ain't yer darlin'

I'm assuming by findings you mean grommets and the like? Some microsuedes are pretty thick, so I would say use your discretion.

Interfacing or some sort of interlining would probably be good for holding shape and supporting embellishments. Something like twill or denim will be inexpensive and work well. Also, you might like to look into getting a tailors awl if you're going to be setting a lot of grommets, as it will compromise the fabric less and prevent the material from tearing and fraying.
Unread 03-28-2011, 07:38 PM   #5
Mehdia
The Corset Queen