Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Sewing/Fabric Craft

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 56 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 05-17-2011, 08:05 PM   #1
Syagria
Imperatrix of Star + Wave

Tutorial: Introduction to Clothing Patterns: Where Do I Start??

Part 1

There are many sewing novices here seeking advice, and a common question I see popping up is, "I want to make X, but I'm new to sewing. Are there patterns I can use?"

The short answer: Yes. And this may perhaps be a bad generalization on my part, but I'm going to assume that those new to sewing may feel a bit lost when trying to understand patterns for the first time. If you don't have someone on hand with some bit of experience, patterns can be bewildering. That's what this tutorial is all about.

The long answer: Yes! And here's how to do it!

There are all manner of patterns out there. As a general rule, the easiest place for you to start will be your local fabric store. 99% of them will have a patterns department. Ask a staff if you don't spot it right away.

1. I've never done this before, so what are good patterns to start with?
Something simple! Don't jump into a 14-piece Tudor-style dress on your first try. Things that are good are basic skirts, pajama pants, robes and other loungewear, scrubs, and then simple blouses. There are many uncomplicated patterns that are designed to teach sewing, and are often clearly marked as such, or as garments that can be made in a few hours. These are great for beginners. Remember: no one is born knowing how to do this. We all learn it on the way with lots of practice. Even if you're not working on a costume, practice by making your own clothes. You can never have too many pairs of fun flannel pajama pants!

2. How do I even find a pattern?