Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Original Designs

Unread 07-11-2011, 07:57 PM   #1
Sorata2002
Local Dragonslayer

Cosplaying Fanart/Variants

Since I'm fairly new to cosplay I was wondering about this. What do cosplayers (new and experienced) think of cosplaying fanart or different variants? More emphasis on the idea of cosplaying from fanart. I saw this fan art variation of a character that looks pretty sweet and it made me think of this topic. To give an idea, it was a pretty different variation but you could tell who it was. Instead of neck long hair, it was pulled back into a thin pony tail and instead of a coat, it was a sleeveless high neck shirt.

Anime USA '11
Katsucon '12
Otakon '12

Thank you ANImakeup for making my Dragon Force Natsu come alive for Otakon! http://web.me.com/queentoast/animakeupfx/Welcome.html
Sorata2002 is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 07-11-2011, 08:07 PM   #2
alpha_helix
beer + costumes

For fanart, you might want to get the artist's permission before cosplaying. Some artists are very protective of their designs. Otherwise, I think it's great fun. I like seeing new twists on characters, and I've done quite a few myself.
youtube channel! Facebook Page
alpha_helix is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-11-2011, 08:10 PM   #3
Sorata2002
Local Dragonslayer

That I was planning on doing from the start if I indeed did cosplay a fanart. I would advertise the heck out of his/her work!

Anime USA '11
Katsucon '12
Otakon '12

Thank you ANImakeup for making my Dragon Force Natsu come alive for Otakon! http://web.me.com/queentoast/animakeupfx/Welcome.html
Sorata2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-11-2011, 08:17 PM   #4
DarkCloudInc
S. M. R. T. I mean...

I've actually been wondering this since my cosplay is, although official, is non-canon. Is there a point where a variant becomes an OC (Original Character)?

I do apologize if this is thread-jacking.
---
Planned Cosplay 2014 - Winged Armor Year: Tentative