Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Costume Critique

Unread 08-03-2011, 10:25 AM   #1
Pvt sleepy

Battlestar Galactica Marine

I'm very new to cosplay, as this is my first costume. But I tried to make it as accurate as possible.

Reference pictures below:

Below are pictures of my almost complete costume.

If you have any constructive criticism, I would be very grateful to hear it. As you can see, the colonial pistol is not done yet, and I forgot the earpiece in the photos.

I do have a specific question, as well. I have so far designed the costume to be screen-accurate, but I'm afraid no-one would recognize what it's supposed to be. Because of this, I am considering adding a patch or two found on other Battlestar Galactica Uniforms to the shoulder(s).

What's your opinion?
Pvt sleepy is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 08-04-2011, 10:24 PM   #2
Algae

My opinion is that it looks pretty damn good.

I'm actively trying to nit-pick here, and I can't really find anything wrong with the costume.

EDIT: I think you're missing their knife, and whatever type of sling they're using. Look into a two-point sling, and a three point sling.

You might want to work on your mannerisms though. Try researching how people will shoot a rifle, for example. Your not sticking your arm out enough, the buttstock is too high when you shoulder the weapon, ect...
Algae is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-05-2011, 12:43 AM   #3
Pvt sleepy

Thanks for the critique! Yeah, the m-7 Bayonet is a bit of a problem. They're pretty expensive, and I couldn't take one to a con. It looks like I'm going to have to make a prop one. And I do have a sling, I don't know why I forgot it for the picture.

I know I'm holding the Beretta wrong. I was in a hurry to make these pictures (both because I had to be somewhere and because the camera was on a timer) and I was sweating like Baltar in a Sons of Ares meeting. I take of that next time.

Thanks for replying!