Go Back   Cosplay.com > Fashion > Steampunk

Unread 08-05-2011, 10:17 PM   #1
AliceinIvory
Alice Addison

Help with a Steampunk Ball Gown??

Hello everyone!! I'm completely new to steampunk so my friend and I are going to a ball together trying out steampunk. It's a black-tie, event, and I want to get my outfit right!!

I'm making it all from scratch, and I've already found a good pattern for bustle skirt (this: http://butterick.mccall.com/b5696-pr...hp?page_id=385 ), and I am contemplating two designs for a top that I think could go with this. The first idea is an off the shoulder, short sleeved top with almost a scoop-neck that would be the same color as the skirt. Also, I thought of an elbow-length top with a square neck that comes down to a few inches below my collarbone. I'm not so comfortable with my upper arms (theyre just not my best feature xD) so I think I'd feel more pretty with the top with sleeves, but I'm not sure if that is actually a good part of steampunk or if the other top is the way to go. What do you think? Would either look formal?

Also, for the fabric, I'm contemplating a medium olive green satin, and I have somewhat ivory skin with dark grey eyes and dark brown hair. Would this be a good option, or can you think of a better color that would go with my features and this design??

And ONE MORE THING XD The thing that I think really makes steampunk is the accessories and such, so what sort of accessories (especially hats or gloves) would go well with this. Also should I add some sort of trim on the dress??

OKAY SO THIS IS ALOT!!! But thank you guys for your help!!

Unread 08-06-2011, 01:05 AM   #2
Mehdia
The Corset Queen