Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Other Costumes

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 08-05-2011, 10:54 PM   #1
DaKKaDaKKa100
Survivor

Military Cosplay

Okay, so I've been thinking. I would love to cosplay and all that jazz, go to an event or whatever, and have some fun. Well...I have come to the conclusion that I suck at making things. Nor do I like spending money just for a costume. So, here's my question. I am an extensive airsoft player, so I have some gear. Like military vests, clothes, balaclava, goggles, and the like. How is military-ish "cosplay" viewed by er...The peeps at the events? Because I downright love the look of military stuff (can't get enough of gas masks, which I have several of) and would it be acceptable at an anime/game/whatever convention? So help me out all you knowledgeable, awesome cosplaying veterans! (I'm new to this, if that helps any)
DaKKaDaKKa100 is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 08-05-2011, 11:01 PM   #2
BlondieSundae
Skanking Pickle

Yea totally dude, I've seen plenty of military-ish cosplays. I suppose you should mostly look in to video games for a specific character, but you really don't need a character to dress up. Just remember to act appropriately because if you're wearing something that looks like fatigues someone may get touchy if they have family in the service. Ya know? I only say that because it's an easily offended world we live in.

Speaking of gas masks, have you ever seen Commissars from Warhammer 40k? They use em, but they don't look like normal military.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_4OYGjUrdll...0/comissar.jpg

terrible pic but....it's so hard to find good commissar pics
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten posts,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a bitching,
As of some one gently pitching, bitching at my chamber door.
`'Tis JasonTerror,' I muttered, `bitching at my chamber door -
Only this, and nothing more.'