Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Sewing/Fabric Craft

Unread 08-07-2011, 06:48 PM   #1
Michi_Lolita
Future Crossplayer

Ways to practice sewing inbetween cosplays?

I'm just getting into cosplay and I already know I want to make all of mine. The only problem is that the only experience I have with sewing is a half semester of a home ec. class that was devoted to sewing, and that was 3 years ago. I want some ways I can practice my sewing ability inbetween my cosplays. (I can't start my first ever cosplay for a few months. A strapless black dress for a Magnet Vocaloid costume.) Does anyone know of any? ( I might have a sewing class this year, but I really have no clue until I get my class list. Which is tomorrow I think.)

(Sorry for the bad title. I'm bad at naming these.)
Kirino Kousaka - Oreimo
Michi_Lolita is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 08-07-2011, 07:20 PM   #2
harmonyisarine

There are as many ways to practice sewing as you can imagine. Jo-Ann's has classes, ranging from basic to advanced, or you can just start with your own projects. Simplicity is a pattern brand with really easy designs, especially if you get the SewEasy (I think) line. Just start making some basic clothes that you'll wear normally (or pajama shirts and bottoms if you're worried about wearing something you've made where people can see when you're just starting). this will teach you the basics that you'll then be able to apply to cosplay.
harmonyisarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-07-2011, 07:30 PM   #3
CapsuleCorp
Master level costumer

Just...make stuff. Really.

If you can't find anything in patterns that you would want to make for yourself, make stuff for other people. For gifts, even. Make your mom a fleece hoodie. Make your friend a plushie. Ask your family what they might want for birthdays or Christmas that you can make yourself.