Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Comics/Cartoons > Disney Cosplay

Unread 10-13-2011, 05:21 PM   #1
cmlara_2009

Pocahontas Cosplay Help

Hey Everyone,

I am new to Cosplay and the forums; so if this is posted in the wrong section I apologize in advance!

That said, I am trying to be Pocahontas this year for Halloween and I've seen so many awesome versions of the cosplay that I wanted to have a go at it. I wasn't sure how I should really start on this; I know Halloween is quickly approaching so I am looking for something that could work but wouldn't be too time consuming. I do not know how to sew but would try my hardest if this costume requires it.

I am going for the Disney look and want to try to get as close to it as possible:
http://disneyprincesspicture.net/ima...0mist.full.jpg

If anyone has any suggestions on what I should do to achieve this look please let me know, I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks so much!

-Celina
cmlara_2009 is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 10-14-2011, 12:13 PM   #2
emmisu
King of Toast

Okay I'm kind of a noob but I'll try to hep you out

I'm looking through some costumes here and online of her, and the ones that look the best most often have:

1. Darker tan for the body of the dress, not yellow.

2. The Fabric looks 'furry' like a faux suede or something. I'd avoid crushed velvet and stuff like that that's really shiny on camera. It's supposed to be made out of an animal hide or some sort, going by historical context.

3. The Fringe is always thin. You can actually use tassel-like material here or you can rip thin shreds of cotton or some material, leaving a at least a 1/4 inch border on the end for easy sewing.

4. Make the necklace out of sculpey or another easy bake clay. It comes in all colors or you can paint it.

5. There's a number of method for using like duct tape and stuff to make ghetto home made patterns in the sewing and patterns tutorial forum.