Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Sewing/Fabric Craft

Unread 11-17-2011, 12:55 PM   #1
Rainbowgasm
fruity goodness!

Small Commission Prices

So some friends have started asking me to do small jobs for them such as making a skirt, lengthening a skirt, putting sleeves on jackets, and such... and they are willing to pay me... How much should I be charging? I'm not a pro by any means and I don't always do things 'the right way' but in the end, the result is the same... they are buying all the fabric (with me present so they know I can work with what they buy) and stuff, so I'm only going to be charging them for my time basically... keep in mind they are my friends, so what I'd charge for a commercial commission if I ever got good enough for that would be beyond what I'd make my friends pay... I'd only make them pay around half what I'd commercially charge... so what should I be charging?
Battler Ushiromiya from Umineko no Naku Koro Ni
Rainbowgasm is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 11-17-2011, 06:11 PM   #2
alliebeth
Show me your teeth.

It depends on what your time is worth to you, and if you prefer charging "hourly" or "per project/piece". Usually the per project/piece is if it only takes 20 minutes, you aren't going to charge 1/3 of your hourly price.
[/color][/size]
alliebeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-17-2011, 06:45 PM   #3
Rainbowgasm
fruity goodness!

would charging $20 to make a skirt that will take around 4 hours with details to make seem like overkill for a friend? shes willing to pay that, but I dont want to charge that if its not what its worth... I'd feel too guilty...
Unread 11-17-2011, 10:00 PM   #4
Kelley
Devil of Details

That seems perfectly fair and well under what I'd expect to pay if I were commissioning someone.

Since we're talking about friends, it really depends on what both of you feel comfortable with, though.

Actually in the pipes:
- Remaking Ser Loras doublet.
- Luke Skywalker, A New Hope