Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Chat > Masquerade / Skit Discussion

Unread 12-14-2003, 02:24 AM   #1
dani
Boots were made 4 walking

Learning a dance from tape?

Hello all..

It's my first time trying to prepare a dance number, so in my time inbetween costume making I should start to learn the dance itself.

Is there a technique a bit more advanced than playing a second or two a hundred times and try to repeat it, and then step to the next two seconds? Is there a symbol system to make notes of the sequence of steps?

Any help will be appreciated.

Ah: hope this is the right forum for this question. If not admins feel free to move it to the right place.

Thanks

Dani
dani is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 12-14-2003, 07:34 AM   #2
Angelphie
Angelic Selphie

Well when I learn ParaPara, I generally watch the routine a few times to get a basic idea of it, then I dance along with it several times. Once I know it roughly, I can go back and concentrate on the awkward or detailed bits. Watching it through lets you see where any repeats are so might save a little work.

You can break it up into sections to learn, doing the same as I said above.
I usually try fairly large sections rather than worrying about individual steps, I can perfect those later. ParaPara is mostly arm movements, but when thereís tricky foot work, I sometimes learn the stepping and arm motions separately to start with. Also you can slow down the tape if necessary.

I canít really comment on dancing except ParaPara, but some of that could be applicable. Just find what works for you. Everyone learns differently.
Angelphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-14-2003, 07:13 PM   #3
Eleryth
Rollin Rollin Rollin