Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Sewing/Fabric Craft

Unread 02-04-2012, 03:55 AM   #1
Animegirl13

Costume making practice

I'm relatively new to cosplay (okay, I've still yet to do my first cosplay) and I haven't really had much practice at making clothes etc. I was going to make the costume for my first cosplay, but realized I had absolutely no idea where to begin, so I chickened out and bought the costume. However, in the future I would like to make my own costume, so can anyone give me some help on where to begin? Like maybe recommend some good beginners tutorials for making basic pieces of clothing or something. I've got a sewing machine at home-though it's only a 'mini' one- and know how to work it from doing it at school, plus I do a bit of cross-stitching, so I dunno if that would help at all

~Temari- Chunin Exam Arc (Naruto)
~Megurine Luka (Magnet)- Vocaloid)
~Megurine Luka (Just Be Friends)- Vocaloid)
~Temari (Sasuke Retrieval Arc)- Naruto)
~Shirley Fenette- Code Geass
~Izumo Kamiki- Ao No Exorcist
~Megurine Luka (Matryoshka)- Vocaloid
~Princess Tutu- Princess Tutu

In-Progress

~Sayaka Miki (Magical Girl Version)- Puella Magi Madoka Magica

deviantART
Animegirl13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 02-04-2012, 08:14 AM   #2
crazywuzhere
................poop.

a 'mini' sewing machine might not be able to handle big projects like costumes. Your best bet is to make simple things. Maybe something like doll's clothes or a type of clothing that doesn't neccessarily require a pattern.
Generation T is a good place to start to get a feel for making clothing. I would recommend you get it from your library or bookstore. It doesn't primarily deal with sewing, but you'll be making clothes from used t-shirts.
...I don't know. If I were you I would hit the books (like I did. I had to teach myself.), or find someone who has made garments before. Because when you sew clothes, it can get confusing and complicated if you don't know what you're doing.