Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Photography > Photo Critique

Unread 03-04-2012, 11:36 PM   #1
yosuke
Brohoof - Pound it

Amateur photographer needs critique

This is my first time posting in the photography forum, so we'll see how this goes.

First off, I'd like to point out that I am well aware that I am not a professional photographer, nor have I had the amount of experience, training, or education as some of the more well-qualified photogs on this site. It's something I completely understand and that I'm okay with. I am an amateur and I will always refer to myself as such. That being said, I'd like to see what others really think of my photos instead of hearing my friends say "ooh pretty, i like it" all the time.

The first two are from personal photoshoots:

IMG_5464 by kado_li, on Flickr

IMG_6241 by kado_li, on Flickr
(This was one done at a convention, so I am aware that it's probably not best that her con wristband is showing.)

These were taken at conventions of cosplayers I just randomly ran into:

IMG_3072 by kado_li, on Flickr

IMG_5172 by kado_li, on Flickr

IMG_4508 by kado_li, on Flickr

As far as the convention pictures go, I know it's not a good idea to have people in the background, but I suppose I'm not quite skilled or patient enough to wait until they're gone, or angle the shots any differently than from what I feel would make a good shot. If any of you can offer a good argument to change my mind, though, I wouldn't be opposed to hearing it.
Also, it's unwise of me, I suppose, but I do not own an external flash yet, so everything gets tweaked in Photoshop afterwards. Therefore, I apologize if you find any lighting problems. Again, I've had no formal training so I'm probably not aware of any subtle issues with the pictures.