Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Cosplay Tutorials

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 06-14-2012, 04:42 PM   #1
RSpanner

Lust's Claws

I had a go at making a Lust cosplay for a friend of mine, so I thought I would share my experience to see if I can help people who want to have a go too! it's a lot of fun, and quite an easy cosplay to make!
She got a lot of comments on how successful they turned out. (this was probably my 5th costume I've ever made, but my 3rd since I've started cosplaying seriously) I'm still learning, but I want to share how I went about it anyway.

Lust's claws are shown officially in a few different ways.

Here is a page of the manga that shows a good view of her claws.

In the manga, they are much more nail like, and to me, looked a little too hard to pull off realistically.

In the Brotherhood anime, they are shown to be a lot fatter, more like the whole tip of her finger has become the claw. This appealed to me a lot more since it looked very sturdy.

This was the image I referenced my version of her gloves with.

It's as if the fingertip lengthens and fuses with the nail, which personally, I would find more appealing to look at than the blade like ones in a cosplay (don't get me wrong, I like the blade-y version of the manga, I just prefer the chunky ones for cosplay purposes ^_^).

What I see a lot of the time is how people make her claws dead straight and pin like, as if they stuck on HUUUUGEEE straight fake nails. This is okay, but you can see in both images that they curve slightly, just like really overgrown nails do. I guess it depends what look you're going for. That's why I kept it in my head that I needed to find a way to make these claws poseable without being too bendy.