Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Cosplay Tutorials

Unread 08-30-2012, 08:33 AM   #1
Paisley

Choosing fabrics?

Hi there I'm new to all of this.

I'm going to Anime Expo next year and I'd like to cosplay. I've tried finding sewing teachers but they've all fallen through so I'm hoping to teach myself how to construct garments (yikes.)

I was just wondering if someone could tell me the basics of what fabrics I should use if I want my costumes to last a while (so I can use them again.) I've purchased broadcloth, muslin, cotton before because they were cheap, but they don't seem very durable. Bt maybe they are! I have no idea.

Also any other pointers you could give me would be wonderful. Thank you!
Paisley is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 08-30-2012, 10:11 AM   #2
animenerd93
Neko Neko Chi CHi

Have u thought about mayb taking classes at a Joann's??????? The place where you can buy seeing machines offers seeing nights where you bring in the machine and what you want to work on, then they help you sit and sew it! As for fabrics it just all depends on the outfit, so it'll b an outfit by outfit basis.
Fem!Austrian War Succesion France (Hetalia/Nyotalia)- 10% done
Fem!Izaya (Drrr!)- 90% done
Magent!Teto (Vocaloid)- 95% done
animenerd93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-30-2012, 07:52 PM   #3
Yet Another
Forever Sleepy

Good Fabric = Expensive. Go to Hancock Fabrics; I noticed that their staff know a tad more about general sewing than those at JoAnns. The fabric is cheaper there too, so they should be able to give you advice easily.

Skyrim Casual: 30 % Done!
Kaylee Frye (Firefly): 40% Done!
Jem Carstairs, Oswin Oswald, Magnus Bane, Pikachu, Trainer White: Done!
Yet Another is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-30-2012, 08:34 PM   #4
liyosa

Ngh, feel bad because I just came back from barely being able to sew, but I guess a fellow n00b can help out on this point? ^^;;