Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > General Construction Help

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 09-09-2012, 10:51 PM   #1
DelvarWorld

Sculptable / paintable foam for volumetric costume?

I have an idea for a larger costume I'd like to put together, but I'm not sure what materials would facilitate the process. I tried searching for "foam" on the forums but only found eva foam, which doesn't seem to be exactly what I want, but I've never worked with it before.

http://soundlogik.com/wp-content/upl...fmushrooms.jpg

I'm thinking of one of those fellows on the right of the above picture. Ideally a 6-7ft costume, maybe 3-4ft in diameter.

I would like to have the mouth / eyes, and possibly some sublte carved ridges in the body, which i envision being a large cylinder, but I could probably handle painting those on and faking the ridges with shadows.

The last large costume I built involved a cardboard and hula-hoop skeleton with lots of duct tape. It ended up being very heavy and I don't plan to go that route again. I'm looking into foam or some similar material to build a lightweight but also largish costume.

So ideally: sculpt-able (mouth / face aspect), lightweight, paintable (super fine detail not required), can support a larger costume, and won't bankrupt me. Is this just some miracle material I'm dreaming up? What would you use?
DelvarWorld is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 09-11-2012, 09:29 AM   #2
Penlowe

Love that music

You need upholstery foam, like the kind of thing sofa cushions are made from. I'd work with 1" foam covered with a light cotton broadcloth or even a jersey of some sort. Look at doll making tutes, that is essentially the same kind of construction that large mascot type costumes use, just a much bigger scale.