Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > General Construction Help

Unread 09-15-2012, 08:39 PM   #1
Dune723

MGS Revengeance - Raiden's Mask

Hi everyone!

After a good five or so conventions, I've finally decided to dress up as a favorite character of mine as I've (jealously) seen many people do already. Unfortunately, I'm brand new to making props and costumes, and I know this is an incredibly daunting task - if not impossible. I'm completely aware that this requires plenty of skill and experience, but I'm more than willing to put in the effort to make sure this comes out as perfectly and closely as possible.

So, I figure the best place to start is the head/mask. I've found threads (like redchainsawz and kanan's at this link) or this one from The Hunter's Lair) that go a long way toward getting me started. They certainly give me a vague idea of how, but I'm still left in the dark here. I was hoping you guys might be able to give me some pointers and criticisms along the way, and I'll post pictures at every step for anyone who may want to start the same project. If any tutorial offers an option I've missed, please do tell me!

Time Constraints
Virtually none, I'm in no rush and have ~2-3 hours a night to work on this thing.

Price Range
Seeing as I don't expect this to take less than a year, there's more or less no limit to the price of materials.

Current Supplies
Picture Here
-Bondo
-1Lb Super Sculpey
-10Lb Amaco "reusable air dry clay"
-2lbs Plus "air drying clay"
-Somewhat thick posterboard-esque paper
-(Not Pictured) Hot glue gun

To start