Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Cosplay Tutorials

Unread 09-20-2012, 08:01 AM   #1
Apple_BaconTaco

Smile Fionna’s Crystal Sword (Adventure Time) Tutorial

Note: This is my first time making props. I’m sure there’s a better way of doing this, but I thought I’d share how I made my sword. Thanks. : )

Hey guys, I had trouble finding a simple and really lazy way of making Fionnas sword. So I thought I would make my lazy and easy way.

Stuff I used:
• Foamdcore, a3 (or cardboard depending on if you want to paper-mache it or not)
• PVA craft glue
• Sticky tape
• Stanley knife & a metal ruler. (not necessary but does help)
• News paper
• Paint

First I drew out my design on the foamcore, it looked like this: *each sword "Side" is 3.5cm wide. (The sketches are a little off, you want the points to curve in more)

Then I carefully cut out the pieces, I use the metal ruler to keep the blade straight.

Then I set them as at an angle (where there two points of the foamcore meet), and tape the inside, I also added a bit of glue on the inside to help stabilise. I do this for each “face” of the sword. * the two “long” parts of the sword should point outward. Then I join the faces together by taping them (I needed another pair of hands to help with this part)

I did the same for the triangle at the top, and stickytaped/ glued it onto the top (all the triangles should face inwards to give a “point”).

Next I made the ‘diamond’ part where the sword meets the handle. Basically I made a large diamond shape and cut out the shape of the bottom of the sword base (this is so the sword can slide into the diamond shape). *I didn’t add a bottom part to the diamond, because I later did that in paper-mache, but I guess you could do it now.

I also add the smaller two triangles that come off the bottom of the large diamond (This covers the part where the sword and the handle meet)