Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Comics/Cartoons > Disney Cosplay

Unread 11-26-2012, 04:42 PM   #1
senshisbard

Creativity vs. accuracy? (Rapunzel)

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting on the Disney thread after lurking for a while, hehe. I was wondering if I could get some input on an issue that's been plaguing me since I started my Rapunzel cosplay over Thanksgiving. I've looked around at some of your gorgeous cosplays and have been floored by how screen- or park-accurate you have made them. That was originally my goal, too. But when I hit up the fabric store, I ended up choosing colors that didn't really match the movie. The bodice is a medium fuschia shade and the faux camisole she wears is pink with a flower design instead of lavender. The skirt fabrics are also a bit darker than in the movie.

So of course I'm having a mini crisis in that I'm not going to be very accurate and I'm wondering how much that has mattered to you in the past - have you had costumes where you took a lot of liberties and felt happier because of it? Or do you try to stick to every detail?

Just wanting to hear some thoughts. Thanks!
senshisbard is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 11-26-2012, 06:34 PM   #2
kiggi

as you can see, mine is not screen or parks accurate but still reads as rapunzel. i am all about creative spins on a character as long as they are still recognizable

have fun!!!

Last edited by kiggi : 10-15-2013 at 12:43 PM.
kiggi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2012, 11:55 PM   #3
senshisbard

Wow, I love how you made the bodice, that fabric is gorgeous. The pink center panel of the skirt is a cool touch, too. Thanks for your input, I really appreciate it. Lovely cosplay!
senshisbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-2012, 11:08 PM   #4
kiggi

thanks!!
kiggi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-02-2012, 11:57 AM   #5
Aeviking
Fantasy worlds explorer