Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Photography > Photography Chat

Unread 12-07-2012, 02:36 PM   #1
faraday48

How to avoid the con badge photobomb

I'm still new to cons, so I was wondering if anyone has some good advice about the best way to wear your badge so that it doesn't become an accidental photobomb?
faraday48 is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 12-07-2012, 03:09 PM   #2
nathancarter
Victor Voyeur Photography

For a private, scheduled photoshoot, just take it off and set it aside. Don't forget to pick it back up again when you're done.

For a quickie hallway shot, have your badge SECURELY clipped/pinned/ziptied to a side of your costume (belt height maybe) and practice a pose that turns the badge away from the camera. Or if you have a big prop like a shield, secure it to the inside of your shield.

If you have a couple of pre-determined poses for your character, and can pull them off on command, it'll make your quickie hallway shots much more interesting. Exaggerated poses and facial expressions make for interesting, fun photos. Practice these poses in front of a mirror, and figure out where you can put your badge so it won't be distracting and right in the shot.

http://flickr.com/nathancarter
https://www.facebook.com/VictorVoyeur
MetroCon - CONjure - Dragon Con - MegaCon
nathancarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-07-2012, 04:07 PM   #3
Access

Quote:
Originally Posted by faraday48 View Post
I'm still new to cons, so I was wondering if anyone has some good advice about the best way to wear your badge so that it doesn't become an accidental photobomb?
A lot of times at a con I will stuff my badge into my pocket/bag/etc. I just bring it out when I need to get into the dealer's hall / artists alley, panel or something like that. Just walking around the con there is no reason to have your badge out.
Access is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-07-2012, 06:02 PM   #4
Eurobeat King
Justified Photographer

Quote: