Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Props/Accessories/Armor

Unread 01-07-2013, 05:56 PM   #1
Tofu Delivery

prop screws

I'm trying to make screws like Kumagawa from Medaka box:

http://postimage.org/image/skk08bhf7/

http://postimage.org/image/4g8pgn3m9/

Someone suggested using balsa with fiberglass coating but my questions are:

-How would I go about doing this? This is my first time making a prop ever. I could not find a tutorial via google about this or where do I even start?

-I'm trying to make two different kinds: a slotted pan screw head as well as two lag bolt screw. Its going to be three in total. Picture one shows exactly the two types I'm trying to make and picture two shows the size proportions.

-The price is open end as long as it doesn't cost 300+ dollars to make.
Tofu Delivery is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 01-07-2013, 06:27 PM   #2
astillar
Cosplay Engineer

I think the simplest way to make them would be to shape them out of extruded polystyrene. It'll take some carving and sanding, but it'll be very low-cost. Once you've got the screws shaped the way you live, just coat with gesso, plasti-dip, or even styro-spray (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=6XoGn-N-Gjg) to get a solid surface.

astillar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-07-2013, 07:20 PM   #3
Tofu Delivery

Quote:
Originally Posted by astillar View Post
I think the simplest way to make them would be to shape them out of extruded polystyrene. It'll take some carving and sanding, but it'll be very low-cost. Once you've got the screws shaped the way you live, just coat with gesso, plasti-dip, or even styro-spray (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=6XoGn-N-Gjg) to get a solid surface.
Do you have a tutorial on how to shape extruded polystyrene or a suggestion to find a link in the right direction? The only issue I might have is the spin around like texture from the screws.

Also what price range am I looking for?

Thanks for the information so far.