Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > Sewing/Fabric Craft

Unread 01-22-2013, 03:09 AM   #1
Cosplay_Candy
Cosplay Candy

I need help painting on a certain material

Hi I'm brand new to cosplay and I need desperate help on one of my projects. I'm looking to make a Cortana suit from Halo 4 and to make all the detail on a latex suit would cost waaaaay too much for a broke college student. I was thinking spandex/lycra would work as a base suit. The question I'm asking is could I use fabric paint to add on my detail line work? I didn't know which kind is best for that material since spandex stretches I don't want the paint to be too firm and crack with movement. If there's something else I could use instead let me know.

Please help me

Thanks ^_^
Cosplay_Candy is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 01-22-2013, 07:53 AM   #2
Syagria
Imperatrix of Star + Wave

The issue is that if you paint the suit as its lying on the floor or table, and then put the suit on, the stretch of the suit will distort your work. If the paint bleeds through, too, it can cause a real mess.

The best way to tackle this approach is to get a friend whose artwork you trust, OR a friend who has very similar size/weight/dimensions as you. You (or similar friend) put the suit on, and then your artist friend (or you) handpaint the designs while the suit is stretched to its wearing dimensions. Whoever is wearing the suit will need to hold still, and not move around, sit, or brush up against anything until the paint dries, so you may need to do this in stages, based on how detailed the design is. This method should prevent the paint from cracking when you put it on again later.

Some fabric paints have a tendancy to stick to themselves or other surfaces even when dry. Just be aware of this, and test out your paint first.

Current Project: Star Trek Original Series Uniform!
Next Project: Original Creation for AB13
Most Recent Con: Nauticon 2012
Next Cons: PAX East, Anime Boston 2013