Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Construction > General Construction Help

Unread 02-04-2013, 08:11 PM   #1
KaiYume

Smile Estimating Cosplay Cost Estimates?

Hello!
I'm very new to cosplaying; I've only cosplayed once before and with a lot of help. This year I would like to try cosplaying miss Moxxi from Borderlands, but I don't want to spend a ton of money if that's what it's going to take.

So, my question is, to those who have a lot of experience constructing their own costumes, is how much approx. do you think a costume like this would cost to make?

Thanks for any help at all

Here's a reference pic:
http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a1...SON/Moxxi5.jpg
KaiYume is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 02-05-2013, 07:50 PM   #2
CapsuleCorp
Master level costumer

There's a lot of factors that go into the cost of a costume besides the fabric.

If you don't have a large stash of notions and tools, every single little thing is going to cost money - buttons and other fasteners, thread, needles, a new scissors maybe, tape measures, and so on. Then there's the decision factor - how you decide to make each part. For example, are you thinking about making the jacket as a corset? Do you want to make book covers or completely custom footwear? How things are made affects the costs of materials that go into them. Also factor in underpinnings - you may need a real corset underneath the coat, which is going to take more fabric but also boning, eyelets, probably an eyelet-setting tool, etc.