Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Chat > General Cosplay Chat

Unread 02-20-2013, 09:43 PM   #1
Art1st4786
Hylian Researcher

When is it time to stop?

This is a bit of a dilemma I've come across. I am getting ready to teach art history at the university I graduated from beginning in the fall. I love to cosplay at conventions, but I know I will have students who will be attending the same conventions as me. It doesn't help that I staff and am visibly everywhere (I won't quit staffing - I love that too much). Should I discontinue cosplaying in order to keep a level of professionalism with my students who attend, or should I say "screw it!" and do it anyway?"
Art1st4786 is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 02-20-2013, 09:50 PM   #2
ShinobiXikyu
Embroidery Enthusiast

I wouldn't worry; most higher-level teching professions, especially in arts, don't exactly frown upon less common creative hobbies. Don't publicly post photos you might regret (and really, that goes for ANY subject, not just cosplay, and there's many more worse things to hide from the public than the fact that you like to prance around in odd getups) and don't openly advertise it to people you think might have a problem with it, and go on your merry way. Letting students who share your hobby know about it too can lead to friendships and/or better teacher-student relationships as well.
There is a vibe here that says "We're in this together! Through thick and thin fabric! Through cold water washes and burning hot irons! Though we might super glue ourselves to our projects, cut holes/gashes/oh-god-mom's-gonna-kill-me into the dining room table, we will stand strong together. Unless there is a 75% off sale at the Fabric store. Then you're on your own. And get the hell out of my way." <3
Help me get rid of my parasprite swarm! --> http://tinyurl.com/brcp53c
ShinobiXikyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-20-2013, 10:58 PM   #3
guitargirlts9
I Love Light Music!