Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay Chat > Masquerade / Skit Discussion

Unread 03-15-2013, 05:41 PM   #1
Chikkijet
I am a Woman-Child :P

Question I Didn''t Think I'd Have to *Do* Anything...

Hey guys,

I am currently working on a Princess Zelda cosplay which I am planning to enter into the contest at Middle East Film & Comic con in April.

Now this will be my first go at entering a cosplay comp, a few days ago I filled out the application and it says that we have to pose on stage for between 30sec and 2 minutes. I am leaning towards 30sec since I am a newbie and might get stage fright My music clip is just some OoT music (Zelda's theme, since it is more well known I think that the TP music) and it goes for 30sec.

I am not sure at all what I should do. The last cosplay event I saw in Dubai, everyone just walked on in a group, walked over one by one, waved, maybe threw a pose (or not) and told everyone who they were cosplaying as. This one sounds a bit more serious/formal.

I do have an ocarina (but only learning to play) so thought maybe I could mime playing it to the music for a bit, make a few poses then go?

Help!!

Awards: EB Expo Runner Up Best Costume Just 'Cos Contest '12, Video Games Live Dubai Cosplay Winner '13
Chikkijet is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 03-16-2013, 08:54 AM   #2
Millions_Knives

if your not comfortable on stage you may be happier entering a hall event
is that something they have?
it is the largest collection of cosplay tutorials and cosplay fun on youtube.
Millions_Knives is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-16-2013, 12:01 PM   #3
Amanita

They have cosplay events in Dubai! Cool!

If you like, you can work on a few simple poses that your character would do- hold one pose for about 10 secs, transition to another, hold, then do your third. This gives the audience a chance to look at you and your costume, and you don't have to worry about acting.
Amanita is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-16-2013, 12:07 PM   #4
Chikkijet