Go Back   Cosplay.com > Cosplay by Series/Genre > Original Designs

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Unread 04-29-2013, 10:07 PM   #1
AikenSwirl
The Kraken's Wolf

Acceptable or Not: Cosplaying Original Characters?

I'm a very avid fan of my friend's webcomic called Joules! She has this thing going for a long time and I know it's totally okay for me to cosplay it!

But, at the same instance, I'm making my own novel that I've been working on for several years (around four). It's got a variety of characters, including humans and aliens.

I was recently contacted on my Tumblr asking if I was playing on cosplaying two of them.

Avogadro Tian:

And Pitch Darkness:

And I've heard lots of bad things about cosplaying original characters. I'm just curious if it's a bad idea and what you think of that.

I just really love some of my characters and their entire story and i just um.

I dunno.

Opinions?
AikenSwirl is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 05-02-2013, 09:21 PM   #2
JediofTime
Use the Triforce Link

Well you are on a form that encourages it. If do it well, no one should have problem with it.

Franklin Delano Roosevelt: "Happiness lies in the joy of achievement and the thrill of creative effort."

Conventions Attending:
2015 Anime LA
2015 Anime Expo

Costumes:
Jedi Link 1.0 Complete
Jedi Link 2.0 Complete
Hero's Shade: 15% complete.
Future Cosplay plans:
Jedi Link 3.0
Mewtwo
JediofTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2013, 12:38 PM   #3
Mangochutney
saucy condiment

You won't be recognized and you won't have the easy "in" with people that a shared fandom provides. And if you let people know that you're cosplaying your OC right off the bat, you'll be faced with a cooler welcome because a lot of them will be waiting for you to start telling them how cool your character is and how they're the best person ever and so tortured and nobody understands them et cetera et cetera.